Old St. Mary’s Parish Ministries

Our parish keeps growing. Each week the bulletin publishes the names of new parishioners. If you are new to Old St. Mary’s or a longtime member of our community, why not become active in one of our ministries?   Below is a list of ministries and the contact information.

Please note: Ministries marked with an asterisk (*) require special training. Those marked with a double asterisk (**) require completion of the Archdiocesan requirements overseen by the Office of Protection of Children and Youth.  Those marked with a triple asterisk (***) require both special training related to the ministry itself as well as that required by the Archdiocese to work with children and youth.


Ministry                                                          Contact
Adult Religious Education Melissa Carnall mcarnall@oldstmarys.com
Altar Servers (Acolytes)* Dan Leonard
Asian Ministry Cleofe Garcia or Jesucita Faigao jsctfaigao@yahoo.com
Accessibility Outreach Program Eileen Davis-Roesler edavis7764@aol.com
Children and Family Faith Formation*** Cathy Walz  cwalz@oldstmarys.com
Domestic Violence Sandra Bell  shbell65@gmail.com
Ecumenical and Interfaith Committee Fr. Paul Huesing phuesing@oldstmarys.com
Eucharistic Ministry* Fr. Patrick Johnson/Margie Halliwell pjohnson@oldstmarys.commargie.halliwell@gmail.com
Evangelization Fr. Paul Huesing/ Jesucita Faigao phuesing@oldstmarys.comjsctfaigao@yahoo.com
Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion (Homebound)*** Fr. Robert Cary  rcary@oldstmarys.com
Finance Committee Jack Fassnacht  jfass1@aol.com
Knights of Columbus Edward Brotonel  ebrotonel@aol.com
Landings* – Reconciliation program Fr. Paul Huesing/ Jacqueline Toepfer phuesing@oldstmarys.comjmtoepfer@yahoo.com
Lectors (Readers)* Fr. Patrick Johnson/ Margie Halliwell pjohnson@oldstmarys.commargie.halliwell@gmail.com
Legion of Mary Fr. Paul Huesing/ Virginia Carrera phuesing@oldstmarys.comvicar452@gmail.com
Liturgy Committee* Fr. Paul Huesing phuesing@oldstmarys.com
Liturgy of the Word for Children Cathy Walz cwalz@oldstmarys.com
Music Ministry* Scott Williams  swilliams@oldstmarys.com
OSM Little Lambs Suzanne Heath / Nicole Harrington suzheath@gmail.comNicole.a.harrington@gmail.com
Old St. Mary’s School Julie Martin/Aimee Markelz Tracy jmartin@osmschool.com  aimee.markelztracy@bunn.com
Parish Council Mark Sedevic mtsedevic@yahoo.com
Paulist Associates* Fr. Paul Huesing / Dorothy O’Malley phuesing@oldstmarys.comdom1013@yahoo.com
Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA)* Melissa Carnall / Jan Newport mcarnall@oldstmarys.comjanicenewp@aol.com
Sacramental preparation Baptism for parents (Baptism Hospitality) Melissa Carnall/ KatieEllis (Roche) mcarnall@oldstmarys.comkatie.roche@gmail.com
Social Justice Committee Mary Anne Smith smithmaryanne77@gmail.com
Welcoming Committee Melissa Carnall mcarnall@oldstmarys.com
     a. Greeters Melissa Carnall mcarnall@oldstmarys.com
    a. Hospitality after Mass (food) Cleofe Garcia  312-461-1163
    b. New Parishioner Luncheon Melissa Carnall mcarnall@oldstmarys.com
    c. New Parishioner Registration Melissa Carnall mcarnall@oldstmarys.com
    d. Ushers* Fr. Paul Huesing/Melissa Carnall phuesing@oldstmarys.com  –  mcarnall@oldstmarys.com
Young Adults Ministry Melissa Carnall mcarnall@oldstmarys.com
Youth Ministry** Catherine Zdziarski catherine@oldstmarys.com